Hallowed Ground

Hallowed Ground
Hallowed Ground Hallowed Ground Hallowed Ground Hallowed Ground Hallowed Ground (click images to enlarge)

Hallowed Ground

Not Available - stock arriving soon
Product prices and availability are accurate as of 2023-05-26 18:52:22 UTC and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on http://www.amazon.com/ at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Manufacturer Description

In conceiving his inaugural season as Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony, Louis Langrée wanted to celebrate the Orchestra's rich tradition of excellence and its legacy of introducing the world to new works. Aaron Copland's Lincoln Portrait had its world premiere performance by the Cincinnati Symphony at Music Hall in 1942. November of 2013 marked the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address. Those powerful words were delivered here by legendary author, poet, activist and humanitarian Dr. Maya Angelou, a mere seven months before her recent passing at the age of 86; Hallowed Ground is dedicated in her memory. Hallowed Ground also features live recordings of two new works commissioned by the Orchestra for the MusicNOW Festival in March of 2014. Nico Muhly's Pleasure Ground is a musical portrait of the iconic landscape architect and designer Frederick Law Olmsted and David Lang's mountain is a musical portrait of composer Aaron Copland, who had a strong connection with the Cincinnati Symphony. Both these pieces and the Orchestra's overall collaboration with the MusicNOW Festival represent a true spirit of innovation in Cincinnati, and affirm this as a place of experimentation.

Key Product Details

  • Artist: COPLAND / LANG / MUHLY
  • Genre: Classical

Related Products

Bach: Sonatas & Partitas 1

only $12.08
Not Available


only $10.09
Not Available

Paris, mon amour

only $10.45
Not Available